Crossfit Tuesday

Summer is officially over, I started my semester yesterday (Monday), which means one less day to workout – I leave home at 6:20am and only come back at around 9-9:30pm… Those make for very, very long days. I’ll try my best to do 10 of each squat/sit-ups/burpees to at least do something. I should try to do handstand push-ups as well, but more on that later.

Now today was one of my usul crossfit days. We’re creatures of habits and creating some schedule forces me to do regular activities. The crossfit workout at the box I go to is usually split in 3 parts: warm up, skill and WOD. Warm up typically involves running or rowing to get the blood pumping then some stretching. Next come the skill part. As I am fairly new to crossfit, there are many movements I’m not familiar with or with which I don’t have enough experience to be let alone doing them. Even when the skill is something I know or a repetition from a previous night, I always seem to find something to improve, weight to increase, etc. Skills are done under my trainer’s supervision. The final part is the workout of the day, or WOD. That’s where you burn calories, sweat, and feel generally unhappy about what you’re putting yourself through. But I’m (almost) always happy once it’s done – if only to say holy crap, look what I accomplished today!

Today’s skills where (with reps and my weights):

-Shoulder Press 8-8-8, with 95lbs; Push Press 4-4-4, with 125lbs; and Power Jerk 2-2-2, lbs

To be honest, I was not pleased with how I did. I thought I could do more, and heavier, but my shoulders disagreed. Also, I got frustrated with the power jerk. I had problems understanding some parts, and it wasn’t until I actually lowered the weight that I understood. Lesson learned.

The WOD was:

-As many rounds as possible(AMRAP) in 8mins – 2x Power Clean(85lbs), 4x handstand push-ups, 6x elbows to knee.

In 8 minutes, I ended up doing 8 rounds, 2 power clean and 4 handstandpush-ups. I did not do the Rx (prescribed), as I’m not strong enough yet. I had to lower the weight from 185lb and do the handstand push-ups from a wooden box. It sucks to scale down, but sometimes, you don’t have a choice… gues I’ll do HSPU at home, too!;)

Supplements

1 scoop (9g) Aminocore (BCAA) with 600ml water – right before and during training, 2 fish oil caps, 1 scoop (28g) Dymatize ISO100 whey powder in 350ml milk – after training

Leave a Reply

