Rainy WOD

Back from a nice relaxing weekend filled with guilty pleasures and untold amounts of calories. Definately worth it!

Now that I’m back, I have to pay for my indulging. Even with the rain, I got my gear and went to train. Today’s WOD was deceptively simple, yet draining.

Skill was deadlift 5 x 3reps. I think I mentionned in a previous post I wanted to get this skill to see if I had improved my max deadlift. Seen the reality check came faster than expected. My previous max was 255lbs. Today, I managed to do 3 reps at 255lbs! WOOT! That was my real max, as I started to roll my shoulders forward on the last rep, thus losing form. But hey, I’ve improved, and I reached the goal I had set myself – at least 250lbs

WOD was 7 rounds for time, capped at 30 min:

-400m run, 29 back squat at 135lbs. This was my first time doing back squat, so I didn’t go Rx, but did it at 95lbs. Managed to do 6 rounds and 400m. Man that one was not fun. By the second round, my squads were already showing their displeasure. Sucked it up and plowed on, in the rain, I finished the WOD drenched.. mostly from the rain. It did cool me off a little. Even if it sucked, I’m glad I did it, as this ives me a small measure of what the race will hold in store – the running after every obstacle.

For those wandering, I haven’t started a running program yet, as winter is coming, and I don’t feel like running in minus 20 weather. I’ll probably start at the end of March 2013, when the temperature starts to climb again. It’ll give my at lest 9-10 weeks to get in a better running shape.  Smart idea?

Supplements

1 scoop (9g) Aminocore (BCAA) with 600ml water – right before and during training, 3 fish oil caps, 1 scoop (28g) Dymatize ISO100 whey powder in 350ml milk – after training

Leave a Reply

