Friday Night Jiu

FINALLY! I got to spend some time on the mats at the dojo! Honestly, it felt good to throw people around. Don’t get me wrong, Crossfit is awesome, but martial arts are my first love.

I usually come in before my actual class so I can stretch a little more (yeah, old people need extra warm-up) and help in class, if needed. My sensei was teaching a kids’ class, and he brought me in as soon as he saw I was ready. Traditionally, the most advanced student serves as the sensei’s uke -training partner – (or ragdoll to throw around). In a kids’ class, he usually gets one of the adults, as advanced as possible too, if only for the size issue. I also get to check on the students and correct the techniques while they practice, if need be. The teacher in me likes doing this, helping them, and the dojo, out. It sucks that my schedule doesn’t permit me to do more.

Once their class was done, the adults went in. After a good warm-up with multiple breakfalls, my sensei sent us straight to work with basic techniques – bearhugs scapes, wrist grabs, collar takedown/defense; no varitions. They’re all relatively low belt techniques, but like everything, practise makes perfect. Even at our level, the blue belt I was training with and I had minor things to work on. NOTHING escapes our sensei’s eye. Perfection might be impossible, but he’ll damn well make sure we’re as close to it as possible before our black belt exam. The examination board sees even more! It was a good class overall. Got to tweak my techniques and work my cardio and strength along the way, too. For us (read higher level belts), basic techniques must be done with precision, speed and power. My training partner also has a good 50lbs on me. 😉

Not too sore from yesterday, and I’m contemplating going to crossfit tomorrow, before leaving for the WE… Too bad I won’t be able to make it for jiu, too. Ah well, these things happen.

Supplements

1 scoop (9g) Aminocore (BCAA) with 600ml water – right before and during training, 2 fish oil caps, 1 scoop (28g) Dymatize ISO100 whey powder in 350ml milk – after training

Leave a Reply

