Chest to bar pullups

I was again lulled in a sense of confidence with today’s WOD! It seemed simple enough. 18 min AMRAP – 5 chest to bar pullups, 5 ring dips and 15 squats.

Ring dips I had previously done, so that didn’t scare me much, the same goes with the squats. Chest to bar pullups are like regular pullups, but the bar has to: a- reach chest level, so 4-6 inches lower that a regular pullup, and b- your chest HAS to touch the bar. I figured OK, I should be able to do Rx, it’ll take more effort, I’ll do less rounds, but it’s only 5 reps.

Man was I wrong. Here’s the missing piece of the equation: I still partially (ok, at least half) suck at pullups, straight or kipping. That forgotten lilttle fact made me work a lot more than I expected. I didn’t do Rx, as I didn’t always touched, or reached, the bar at chest level. I did end up doing 12 rounds and 4 C2B. There were so good elements to it: I can do at least 3 kipping pullups in a row, my squats were done at a speed I’d never had before (yay), my calluses are still were they are supposed to be, on my hands, and it was a fun WOD. 🙂

The skill part had to do with ankle mobility and squats. We did some OH Squats to practice getting in deep. Let me tell you; I find those squat very diofficult, as I have little shoulder flexibility. With the 35lbs bar I had, the only way I could go deep and not bend forward was if my hands were past the thick part of the barbell use to stop plates from sliding towards the middle. Will have to work on that.

Ah, the breakfast muffins are delicious, but eating 2 in the morning is not that filling. I end up being hungry less than 2h later and that me temptation by big tasty sugar/fat/carb-laced cookie. Good to eat, bad for body.

Supplements

1 scoop (9g) Aminocore (BCAA) with 600ml water – right before and during training, 3 fish oil caps, 1 scoop (28g) Dymatize ISO100 whey powder in 350ml milk – after training

Leave a Reply

