Legs

Today was quite a good day for me, even though my legs still hurt from Tuesday’s WOD.

The skills today were glute ham developper sit-ups, or GHD, as well as kipping pullups and double-unders. That’s right, simple skills I suck at. GHDs was a first for me. It’s fairly simple and I shouldn’t hurt my back doing them. On the kipping part, we took the movement apart, starting with the first step and adding step after step until the complete movement. No one used bands, and that was awesome. Now, on a good day I can manage 2, maybe 3, but they’re all very ugly and I swing out of control. Waste of energy, and I just end up ripping my hands open – not fun. My coach found the problem with my kipping. I was using a bar that was too low. You see, I can usually reach the bar with arms extended by standing on the end of my toes. Because of that, when I swing back, my legs are not completely straighten (lifted up a little so not to hit the ground), and a lot of downward momentum is lost, making it harder for me to swing up in a controlled manner. I then transfered to a higher bar, where I have to jump to catch it. Guess what? I cranked out 5 in a row, good form, good control. Hell yeah, I might be improving after all! As for the double-unders, well, it’s still hit or miss; I do 1 in a row or 3-5 in a row. Can’t seem to break that wall for now. I mean regularly, there have been the odd 6 or 7 DUs here and there…

The WOD was short and demanding. 4 rounds for time: 20 walking lunges with 45lbs overhead and 30 double-unders. Did the WOD in 9:53, Rx. 🙂 Now I’m really REALLY going to hate my legs tomorrow.

I know the title of the post is Legs, so there’s more to them than just pain. We had a newcomer today, a girl who might stick around. Friendly and also an professional ultramarathoner. That’s right, shes runs insanely long distances for a living. Better yet, she coaches running, too… and not just running on pavement, but Spartan Races as well. Ain’t life funny like that? I’ll try and book time with her to get a good/improved form and get tips and tricks – anything that’ll help me with the race.

Supplements

1 scoop (9g) Aminocore (BCAA) with 600ml water – right before and during training, 2 fish oil caps, 1 scoop (28g) Dymatize ISO100 whey powder in 350ml milk – after training

One comment

Leave a Reply

