Pathetisad (it’s a word, right?)

Tonight started with a high; I managed yesterday to crank out 10 HSPU! Yep, 10! Not the full 90 degree bend in the arms, but hey, you got to start somewhere.

Now on to tonight’s training. It started out pretty well with me having probably my best pace in the warm-up run. We then went on to shoudler mobility. I’ve mentionned it before, I have really stiff shoulders. It doensn’t hinder movements per se, but makes my life more complicated at times. The coach ran through a series of pain-inducing foam roll exercices to loosen the muscles, and I did another one where you have a small rubberballl held in place on the side of your neck by a strap weighted by a 1 pood kettlebell. Ah, and you have to hang form a bar, too. It’s 30 seconds of excrucisting pain on each side, but I regained some 4 inches of mobility with this!

The WOD was a quick and simple one: sets of 21, 15 and 9 of deadlifts (225lbs) and overhead squats (135lbs). Because each participant needs 2 bars, we had to do it in heats, and that brings a different dynamic to the WOD. You can’t just wait around. You encourage the guys and gals grunting and lifting. You try to make them go harder, faster, better. Just like I said in an early post: you’d never get that kind of support elsewhere. I couldn’t do the Rx – I did 185lbs and 45lbs. The OH Squat is very hard for me because of shoulder stiffness, so it’ll probalby take time before I can add serious weight. Took me about 8 minutes to go through it.

The pathetisad part of this is that I’m slowly discovering that I seem to hate deadlifts more than burpees. That’s really sad.:(

If you haven’t done burpees before, look it up and do 25. You’ll understand why the hatred.

Supplements

1 scoop (9g) Aminocore (BCAA) with 600ml water – right before and during training, 3 fish oil caps, 1 scoop (28g) Dymatize ISO100 whey powder in 350ml milk – after training

Leave a Reply

