First Run

As I posted yesterday, I went out for a run today. My shoulder’s pretty much healed up, and I’m very happy about that. I can feel a slight twinge, but that’s all. Anyway, back to the running.

Since I’m relearning how to run, or get used to running, and I’m also transitionning to more minimalist shoes. I took it easy. My running coach – yeah, I think I’ll call the ultramarathonner that from now on – advised me to take it easy. I figured I’d start with 2k, see how the body handles it. She seems to be of a same mind, but with adding a 200-300m walk between kilometers to give my legs a rest, and to catch my breath. It makes sense.

So off I went earlier today, with the sun peeking out from behind clouds. I’m lucky enough that my street is sort of U-shaped and going the “full circle”, it measures about 1km. Makes for easy math. First km was done in about 4:55. Don’t know if it’s good, but I wasn’t too out of breath and my legs were ok. Walked 200m and went at it again, but I stopped at 1.36km (total). I could feel the onset of shin splints, so I decided to stop and consider this a good first try at getting back into running. So, 1.36km in 6:50 was the official result for the first run.

As I’m writing this, I’m starting to feel the effect of the road on the ball of my feet and the impact on my shins. I should be good for another outing Monday, I think. Ah, and I’ve mapped this run’s distance with Runkeeper. Works pretty well  so far.

Leave a Reply

