GHD

I’m either insane or my body is in better shape than I thought. I went back to the box again today. The WOD, posted on Facebook the previous night or early in the morning, looked suspiciously easy, but more importantly, it would be demanding on muscles “less” solicited last night.

As I had done some 70 pull-ups last night and as my calluses were still sore, I was less than thrilled to do the skill today: kipping pull-ups. That’s right, 30 minutes of hanging from a bar repeating over and over elements of the kip. It’s not that I hate this, I’m actually picking up tips and getting better technique, but my hands were very, very sore at the end. No rips, though. I’m getting fairly decent at them, I can string a few (10, judging from last night) together, and I’m slowly seeing how the butterfly pullup works… I’ll have to try after getting better at kipping. The butterfly PU is a faster version of the kip, which is technically faster than the strict PU.

The deceptively simple WOD: 4 rounds for time – 400m run, 20 ring push-ups and 10 GHD sit-ups. Sounds easy,no? Well, it is. 🙂  I’m getting a decent pace on the run and getting used to the shoes – though I did feel it in my shins after 2 rounds. The ring push-ups are ok… you’ve done ring dips and it’s the same principle, only different movement. The GHDs… were a first for me. A GHD (glute-ham developper) sit-up is basically a sit-up with way more range of movement. You’re on a “contraption” above the ground, sitting, feet secured, and then you go backwards to try and touch the ground and you come back up. That’s one! I’ve tried them before, but never in a WOD setting. In the first one, first round, I heard my spine pop twice. That was scary! And there was some residual pain from last night’s DL PR. Still manage to plow through it in 13:49. I’m really proud of this score, as I came with some 30sec of beating one of our best crossfitter at the box, and beat another very advanced one by 4sec. Little victories to boost morale.

Here’s a little thing to make some of you smile. It happens to the best of us: http://crossfitlisbeth.com/2012/10/10/ci-fam/

Supplements

1 scoop (9g) Aminocore (BCAA) with 600ml water – right before and during training, 2 fish oil caps, 1 scoop (28g) Dymatize ISO100 whey powder in 350ml milk – after training

Leave a Reply

