Helen

Friday is pick your poison day. There is no skill, just the warm-up run and stretching. You can do one of the week’s WOD or, if there’s one, the coache’s WOD. That one usually involves a lot of bodyweight exercises. You can also do a dirty girl or hero WOD. We actually had one girl doing Moore (look it up… it involves ropes!). I decided to do Helen. Three reasons behind the choice: 1) I was not inspired by the other WODs, 2) I wanted to do Fran, but I still lack shoulder strength to do a decent Rx with it… as in I might not finish it., and 3) we have a chart on a wall with our names and certain benchmarks/WOD we’ve achieved or that should be achieved at some point. You can look at what the others do/have done, or beat your own scores. Helen is on that chart, and there’s no score next to my name. Time to remedy the problem.

Helen: 3 rounds for time – 400m run, 21 KB swings 1.5 pood and 12 pull-ups. I finished in 14:23 Rx, which is about 2 min more that I was aiming at.

Here are a few facts that emerged from the WOD. This is the third time this week I do pull-ups, and I’m really starting to feel them. Like deadlifts, KB swings are hard on my lower back as I’m mastering learning the movement. Those that paid attention would also notice that I’ve run a lot this week. 800m warmups every time, then more running on Wednesday (4x400m), and now some more today (3x400m). As I’m relearning how to run and breaking in my shoes/feet, my body is paying the toll for pavement abuse. During my last 400m, I got double shin splints halfway through. Not fun! I walked some 25m to releive the pain, them plowed on to finish this quickly. It’s not so bad, now. So I think I’ll rest my legs this weekend, and probaly to some homework to train my brain instead. 😉

Supplements

1 scoop (9g) Aminocore (BCAA) with 600ml water – right before and during training, 2 fish oil caps, 1 scoop (28g) Dymatize ISO100 whey powder in 350ml milk – after training

Leave a Reply

