Run, Spartan, run!

I don’t like running, and by this, I mean I’m happy once it’s done, but it ain’t fun during the exercise. You see, I’m built like a runner – 6′, about 180lbs and shaped like a stick. Not heavy set, no excess flab (well, some belly), so running should be easy. Well, it ain’t. And it’s not all due to the shoes! My biggest problem is cardio; it sucks big time. I’m still paying for years of smoking. I’ve improved by leaps and bound, mind you… Otherwise I would never have passed my last belt exams in jiu jitsu. Still, it’s not where I’d like it to be.

Fun fact: today we switched classes. Both the Mrs and I usually do the beginner’s class, as it is conveniently right after work, and you get advice to tweak you skills. The “real” crossfit class skips the teaching bit. You warm-up, then go straight into the skill. The coach gave us the green light to register for the classe, so now we have more options, provided we know the movement (jerks and snatches, I’d like more pointers, but deadlifts? piece of cake!). With non-beginning crossfiters, the dynamics are different, people push themselves more, encourages a lot when you’re pushing back your limits (I mean more than in beginner’s class, where you still get great motivation, just differently), and there is no dilly dallying – straight with weights!

Today’s skill was the thruster. It’s basically a squat clean finished by a push press… You take the bar off the ground, bring it to your shoulders, squat and explode to bring it up above your head, arms extended. We had to do 8-5-2-1-1-1-1-1. Warm up of 8 with just the bar, then 5 with some weights, then super heavy for 2 and max for 1, then try to improve at every successive 1. I had tried last Friday, while thinking about doing Fran, as I had never done them. I had tried at 95lbs, and found I couldn’t do a WOD at that weight. As a skill, though, I can push more. I ended up doing 155lbs, and I’m very proud. I couldn’t raise 160 above my head – came close, though.

The came the WOD… one none liked much… 4 times 400m sprint, not run, with exactly 2 min rest between sprints. I finished in 12:26, averaging 1:36 per sprint once rest periods are removed. It was hard, your lungs are on fire the whole damn time, and you got to keep on pushing and keeping the fast pace you started with. You don’t want someone to get ahead of you. And for the first round, I had someone who’s footsteps I could clearly hear… had to dig deep to stay ahead of the pack. Glad it’s over, proud of my time, but still dont like it. 😉

Supplements

1 scoop (9g) Aminocore (BCAA) with 600ml water – right before and during training, 2 fish oil caps, 1 scoop (28g) Dymatize ISO100 whey powder in 350ml milk – after training

Leave a Reply

