Fight Gone Bad

Today was a special Saturday for me. I didn’t have anything planned. That meant I could actually sleep in to catch up then go train, if I wake up early enough. I managed to do both. 🙂

Because I woke up around 9, I couldn’t do the beginners’ class at 8, or the regular class at 9. Fortunately, the box offers an open class at 10. It’s open to everybody and is used to show beginners and curious persons what crossfit is all about. Now don’t get this wrong, the WOD is still brutal, or as brutal as you want it to be. The more you push yourself, the harder it is. I saw that the earlier classes were doing Fight Gone Bad, as nasty WOD, and I figured I’d do it on Pick Your Poison Day (Friday). The open WOD would still kick my butt anyway. To my surprise, we did FGB anyway.

Fight Gone Bad. 3 rounds AMRAP. Every round consists of 1 non-stop minute of the following: wall ball shots (20lbs), sumo deadlifts high-pull (75lbs), box jumps 20″, push press (75lbs) and rowing (calories). Every rep or calorie on the rower counts as one point. There is one minute rest between rounds. So it takes 17 minutes to complete FGB.

Don’t let the lighter weights fool you. It’s intensive! By the time you get to the box jumps, you’re still hurting from the wall shots. And with the rowing, EVERYTHING hurts, including the lungs. Sad fact: you don’t burn that many calories in one minute. I ended up doing 104/65/65 – total of 234. I don’t know how I managed such a high first round, but I crashed in the other 2. Still happy to have finished it, but sad that I didn’t overcome my nemesis (let’s call her that), one of the regular crossfitter at my box. I decided a few week back to take her scores as my goals for every WOD/skill. I have to equal it or do better. That forces me to push myslef even more, and it forces her to do the same, as she now has someone slowly gaining on her. I’m also frustrated that I didn’t Rx it; on a few box jumps, instead of jumping, I stepped up on the box. The rep is still good, but it’s not Rx. The coach is getting more picky about doing things the right way – for Rx. With competitions coming up (or even outside comp), he wants us into good shape, ever improving. Ah well, I’ll do better next time.

Speaking about competition, I’m officially registered, having paid and such. Don’t know what to expect. All we’ve been told is that there will be 3 WODs to complete that day, and the top 5 of each category will have to go through a fourth one.

Supplements

1 scoop (9g) Aminocore (BCAA) with 600ml water – right before and during training, 2 fish oil caps, 1 scoop (28g) Dymatize ISO100 whey powder in 350ml milk – after training

Leave a Reply

