Deep Squats

After yesterday’s shoulder beater, I was quite glad to see today’s WOD would be legs oriented. Well, maybe not glad… strategically relieved? In any case, it’s giving time to rest my shoulders.

As we’d be running today, we rowed 1000m on the rowing machine as a warmup. I’m keeping a decent pace, 2:05/500m – consistent with the last few times on the machine. This time around, though, I saw improvement in my technique. When you row, there’s actually a small rest period as you are coming back. Now, the thing is as you row, you don’t quite see that, because the rest is only for a split second. When I learn movements that have timing involve, it always seems a big rush from beginning to end, until my mind see time “stretch”. It basically sees every second/time period making up a movement as a longer period than it actually is and that give my body the time to do the moves without feeling rushed. It’s hard to explain, but I guess you could see it as a coiled spring that “relaxes”. So, during the rowing, My mind started to uncoil time within each rowing movement; there is indeed a period where you can rest. That split second is enough for you to relax the shoulders, chest and back. Give me a few more warm ups or WODs with rowing, and I’ll have all the tie in the world to rest while working hard.

Ok, I kinda lied, we did do an exercise that involved the shoulders. Today’s skill was weighted pull-ups: 8-8-8-6-6-6. You start with strict pull-up, BW or band if needed, then you work up, or down (for bands) for the following sets, ever-increasing. I managed to add 20lbs to my BW.. hopefully that means I’ll get faster later. 🙂

Today’s WOD was 4 rounds for time – 400m run and 50 squats. That’s it. Again, not fun… my quads were burning after the first round. All of us looked injured going back to every run… hobbling the first few steps to work out the stiffness in the muscles. I ended up doing 15:14 Rx.

And the coach, I think, will get on my case more and more, as I’m competing in December. He told me a few times to go deeper in my squats, as I’d get called for some by a ref, wasting time and energy. Good thing, and my form will improve, bad thing as it might get on my nerves.. maybe. My beef with the squat is that I have a fear of going deep. Two years ago, I had knee surgery for a torn meniscus in my left knee, which sidelined my for about 2 years (one leading to the surgery, and one after with healing and physio). I got this injury in Thailand doing Muay Thai, did crap sparring and the rest involved pain any time I’d fully bend my knee, you know, like when you do a crossfit/deep squat. It’s fully healed now, and all is well, but the fear still lurks at the back of my head, waiting and preying on my mind when I’m tired and I’ve got knee intensive exercises. I’m getting better at controlling the fear – it’s nearly gone – but I must stay vigilant.

Supplements

1 scoop (9g) Aminocore (BCAA) with 600ml water – right before and during training, 2 fish oil caps, 1 scoop (28g) Dymatize ISO100 whey powder in 350ml milk – after training

Leave a Reply

