blargh!

It’s been a while since I last wrote – I took time off to heal a nagging pain in my left shoulder, same thing as a few weeks ago. Hopefully, the rolling, stretching and rub A-535 took care of it for good. We also had our first ever competition last Saturday! The first in Ottawa – ever! It was a team competition with some 80 teams present. Yours truly did not participate –  the basic criteria to enter in the scaled category was above what I can do. That said, I participated as a judge. It’s quite an experience, too. I got to see how athletes prepare, perform, overcome… It gives me a inkling of what’s in store for me in December.

There were 4 WODs in the competition:

WOD 1 – A 400m sprint

WOD 2 – Max 2 reps front squat. Teams had 10 minutes to go as heavy as possible to do 2 reps in front squat. One guy did 310lbs!

WOD 3 – Chipper – 4 muscle-ups (for Rx), 100 wall ball shots, 100 double unders, 100 KB swing, a farmer’s walk while gripping the top of 45/25lbs plates, 100 power cleans, 100 box jumps and 100 thrusters. That’s total, not each member. It was brutal and capped at 20min. And yes, some managed to finish in 17-18min.

WOD 4 – Snatch ladder. Each member must do a set of snatches at their category-prescribed weight. So, 1-1, 3-3-, 5-5, 7-7, etc. You go as high as possible in 11min. Many managed to do sets of 17.

There was actually a 5th WOD, the finales:

While one member holds himself in the up position of a pullup (chin above bar), the other must do 25 pushups/handstand pushups. Then, one member must hold himself in the up position on the rings (arms extended, elbows locked) while the other does 50 sit-ups. Then while one was hold a weighted bar in a deadlift position, the other must do 75 burpees. For all holds, when one broke hold, the other had to stop, and then they’d switch and contnue. THEN (yep more stuff), there were 10 alternating rope climbs.

Major respect to the teams that competed and those that won. It was brutal, and I’m not longer afraid of my eventual black belt exam, as it seems there are worse things out there. Honestly, now I’m much more nervous about December. Which brings me to today… there a reason why the title is blargh!

I took the warmup easier than usual, jogging with another girl from the group. We started the workout today with a skill I’ve done before – ring dips, 10-10-10-10. Then came the WOD…

WOD: 2 rounds for time – 50 pullups, 75 sit-ups, 50 OH Squats (75lbs) and 75 double unders, with a 25min cap. It wasn’t Rx. I HATE OH Squats. I don’t have the shoulder flexibility, or the bar is not long enough, to do them decently. I can barely managed the 45lbs bar. The pullups were the best thing that happened during the WOD; that tells you a lot. I took me 10 f***ing minutes to slowly crawl through the damn squats… 10!!! By that point, I was past the point of being unhappy and fuming. I was angry… really pissed at how things were going. Doubles unders didn’t go well either, adding to my mental state. I capped with 1 round and 32 pull-ups. Silver lining, my calluses didn’t rip.

I feel bad now, because folks at the box got to see a bad side of me. After the WOD, I stretched in my little corner, showered and left. I was given some advice by one of the guys there to improve my OH Squat, so there is that. He told me he also understood how I felt, as he spent the competition Saturday in the same mood. I’ve never had a WOD get at me that bad. Some you don’t like, or you wished you’d do better, but this was bad. That also got me to think about December. If I can’t master that lift without even weight on it, how will I do during the competition? I just hope that thought won’t prey on me too much over the next month. We’ll see later. I guess I could see this as a learning experience, too. I have a glaring weakness I have to fix. I’ll start to work on it tonight, with a broom.

Supplements

1 scoop (9g) Aminocore (BCAA) with 600ml water – right before and during training, 2 fish oil caps, 1 scoop (28g) Dymatize ISO100 whey powder in 350ml milk – after training

Leave a Reply

