Falling from Grace

First of all, thanks to all who encouraged me while I’m in this slump/plateau, it helps. Even the coach got into it, telling me I’m too hard on myself – to paraphrase slightly: “you’ve only been doing this for less than 5 months, for fuck’s sake!” He also gave me a good piece of advice. He said to stop worrying about time or weights or doing Rx during a WOD; to concentrate more on the technique when things don’t quite work out. By working on the technique, you get better, faster, stronger and bust out of the plateau. He says I’m improving, but I’m not seeing it. Could be. I figured I’ll follow his advice and see where that takes us.

Today was pick you poison day. I decided to go for Wednesday’s workout, which I hadn’t done: Grace. I like to do dirty girls on Fridays. They’re fitting ends to the week, and a good test of my progress (yeah, I know).

Grace is fairly simple: 30 clean and jerks for time at 135 lbs. I also went with this one because I need to work on all my lifts –  might as well starts now. I tried the 135lbs; doing 1-2 reps was hard. I’m not there yet, and I’m also not that familiar/used to the movement. Last time I did it was as a skill, in June. Because of those factors, I went with 95lbs. It’s a good weight… enough to make me sweat and work for it, but light enough to do the WOD. Turns out it was probably too light. I blasted through the 30 reps in 4:32! Next time, I’ll aim for 115 or the full 135. Nonetheless, I’m happy about the workout, as I concentrated more on the technique than the time. One step at a time.:)

Supplements

1 scoop (9g) Aminocore (BCAA) with 600ml water – right before and during training, 2 fish oil caps, 1 scoop (28g) Dymatize ISO100 whey powder in 350ml milk – after training

Leave a Reply

