Rx HSPU.. not!

Back at the box after nasty hurty physio yesterday. I’m still sore from that! In any case, you got to pick yourself up, bite the bullet/lip/mouthpiece and get on with it.

As it was rainy out there today, we had the option of running or 20 burpees to warmup. Still took the running.:)

The skill was one I need to work on – the hang power snatch. Unlike the snatch, that starts on the ground, you start at hip level, and you don’t have to go into a full squat before standing. A quarter squat will do. We did no weights, to get the hang of it: 6-6-6. My shoulders are less stiff and practising OH squat with a broom stick is helping with the flexbility. Going into the deep squat with the hang squat is a little bit beyond my reach, but I’m inching closer.

WOD was a grinding one. 7 rounds for time, 25min cap – 5 HSPU, 10 deadlift 185lbs, 10 chest to bar and 20 double unders. I started this witht the best of intention… going Rx all the way, even if I could only do 1 round. Well, after not even doing one HSPU Rx and collapsing midway, I went scaled and did the pushups from a box. I can do “mini” HSPU here, going down 2-3 inches, but for the real ones, you hands are on plates and your head must go almost to the floor, resting on an abmat (basically 1 inch of foam) – not happening! The rest was Rx, even the hard chest-to-bars (well, maybe 3-4 weren’t Rx). I ended up doing 5rounds, 5 HSPU and 1 C2B in 25 min.

I’m also noticing a trend which I really don’t like. I took a week of to heal, and now that I’ve come back, my last WODs seem to get shittier and shittier. I’m no longer progressing, but regressing. I had issues doing sets of 10 deadlifts at 185! WTF?!? Double unders are the same. I don’t understand what’s wrong.. and obviously, my mind turns to the comp in December; min req for deadlift is 225. Am I going insane? Is old age catching up to me already? Gipsy curse? Am I thinking too much about the comp? Side effect of gradually going paleo? The floor is open to all theories…

Supplements

1 scoop (9g) Aminocore (BCAA) with 600ml water – right before and during training, 2 fish oil caps, 1 scoop (28g) Dymatize ISO100 whey powder in 350ml milk – after training

Leave a Reply

