Success Failure

I’m slowly getting out of my performing slump and looking forward to WODs again. As I was not too sore about swinging 72lbs around, I went back at it today. Seems it was too cold today, so we ended up rowing instead. My pace is getting decent. For a 1,000m,  my 500m average is 2:05. Could do better, I’m sure.

The skill was a new one today, which is also why I wanted to train –  muscle ups! Basically, you hang from the rings, lift yourself up in a deep ring dip and go into full arm extension… in theory. In practice, gravity is still stronger than muscles, so we did a scaled down version where you can use your legs to give yourself a boost. It’s still hard, but at least you get enough lift to go through the movement.

The WOD made a liar out of me. I told you yesterday I wasn’t going to do OH squats until next week; guess again! Today was 3 rounds for time – 10 OH Squats 135lbs and 50 double unders. In my case, just the 45lbs bar. Well, I did those in a very awesome way, with minor details to fix, but good form. Honestly, it’s still hard because of the shoulders, but the squat is easier and I can get the bar farther back than before – less chance of face planting. Next time, I might actually try to add 10lbs to the bar and see how that goes. Training paid off. 🙂

The double unders, though… Fucking double unders! ARGH! I’m seriously getting worse and worse! I used to string 5-7 in a row, and now it’s challenging to do ONE – a single &?$%? double under. And I had to do sets of 50. Most folks took some 7-8 min to complete the WOD; took me over 15 minutes. I was… very irked by the time I was done. I finished it, did them all, one at the time, except once where I did 2 and another 3 in a row. I thought about simply throwing the skipping rope at something and stop and give the universe a giant middle finger salute. This is getting ridiculous. I didn’t though, stuck to it and raged inside until that ordeal was done. Guess I’ll add this to the list of things to practice at home.

Supplements

1 scoop (9g) Aminocore (BCAA) with 600ml water – right before and during training, 2 fish oil caps, 1 scoop (28g) Dymatize ISO100 whey powder in 350ml milk – after training

Leave a Reply

