Box jumps pysche out

Either I’m insane, or my body’s coping better with soreness. Either way, I went back to train again. I was ok overall, and over yesterday’s frustration, ready to get some more… and maybe spend some money. We had a rep from a compression clothing company come to show us his products and sell them at half price. I decided to go with a short-sleeved top, if only to see if it’s worth it. I would’ve rather have socks, but he had like five pairs in sizes small, medium and large. Seems I need extra small and he was all out of those. Honestly, if you go sell products in a box where you know you’ll make a killing on a popular item (like socks), you try to have some in with you/in inventory, or at least be able to order some at some point. Ah well. We’ll see how the top fits once I get it, most likely next week – review to come. Now on to the daily dose of hurt.

The skill today was box jumps. Try to go as high as you can. In a WOD, Rx for guys is usually 24 inches, with the odd 30in thrown in for a chuckle every now and then. I can do 30, no sweat. It’s when you go higher that the mind plays tricks on you. You start to wonder if you’ll be able to make it; the next height was technically 40in – 2 x 20in boxes stacked. Remember that the boxes are made of wood, and not that sanded, too, as you jump on them. You start psyching yourself out, thinking you’ll miss, slip or something else and hit/scrape/cut open you shins on the box. These things do happens. It tried a “dry jump” to see if I could clear 40in. I can, in theory… I half-psyched myself out, and the 2-3 tries I did, I ended up with one foot on and then just getting off the box. It is scary. But crossfit being crossfit, there’s always a way of scaling. I tried adding a 45lbs plate on top of the 30in box. The plate is 2.5in thick. I can manage that, so I added another one on top; I can jump that height, too. So I’m at 35in for jumps. Next time, I’ll go higher, or try to. 🙂

The WOD was painful. 3 rounds for time – 21 thrusters 95lbs, 21 burpees and 400m run. I had never tried more than 1 thruster at that weight, and that was when I thought about doing Fran. I’m honestly still unsure about Fran, and I think that’s because the thrusters at 95lbs are hard on my shoulders. Thrusters are a squat with the bar resting on your shoulders and then you go into a shoulder press as you come up. I did all 3 rounds Rx in 22:32, hating this every step of the way. My right shoulder is not fully healed yet and pain flared up at thruster number 5 of the first round, followed by back pain and thruster number 3 of round 2 – lousy GHD situps. It was long, painful, but I finished it. Whether it was a smart think remains unknown. I’ll see tomorrow. For now, I’ll rest and heal (yeah right). Maybe in a week or so, I’ll give Fran a try on pick your poison Friday.

Supplements

1 scoop (9g) Aminocore (BCAA) with 600ml water – right before and during training, 2 fish oil caps, 1 scoop (28g) Dymatize ISO100 whey powder in 350ml milk – after training

Leave a Reply

