Small Victory

Today was a good day. I haven’t said that in quite a while, it seems. We had a quick and demanding WOD that I was dreading, but ended up actually enjoying.

No running outside in the cold, nor rowing 1000m today. We had a small warmup routine instead. It short, but gets your blood pumping. It was pretty simple: 3 rounds – 10 situps, 10 jumping jacks, 10 burpees and 10 prisonner squats. They’re like normal squats, but you keep your hands behind you head. Try and keep good form…

We also didn’t have an actual skill today. It was hip and leg mobility exercises.. something all but the super flexible girl (you know the one; there’s always one that seems to be made of rubber) really need. Combined with the daily back squats I have to do, I felt like my butt could possibly touch the floor if I went deep enough in squat position afterwards. Them exercises work.

On to the dreaded WOD. 13 AMRAP – 12 OH Squats 95lbs  and 11 hand release push-ups. That’s right, my old nemesis, the one I hate so much. With last time’s conclusive experiment with the 45lbs bar, I felt a little bit more daring. I figured I’d add a 5lbs plate on each side, to start challenging myself and working towards the 95lbs I have to do for the WOD 4 Toys in December.

When I got to the box, I saw one of the crossfitter there with a 10lbs plate on each side of the bar. Both he and I pretty much follow each other in terms of weight progesssion. Heck, I beat his CFT by only 5 points. So, the weight he uses gave me a good indication of what I could handle. So, ego taking over safety, I went with 10lbs plates. Granted, I did try to do 1-2 reps before the WOD, if only to make sure I could do it. Ego – yes, stupidity – not always. Well, in 13 minutes, I ended up doing 5 complete rounds and 5 more OH Squats. I am pretty damn please with this small victory against my nemesis movement. Better yet, mostof them were done with good form. Thanks to my coach for the homework, the pointers and warnings throughout the WOD itself. Locking the elbows forward is still problematic at times. Nonetheless, next time, it’ll be 75lbs! 🙂 Ah, another small detail: everytime I lifted the bar above my head, I tried to snatch it. Might as well get used to the movement, too.

Supplements

1 scoop (9g) Aminocore (BCAA) with 600ml water – right before and during training, 3 fish oil caps, 1 scoop (28g) Dymatize ISO100 whey powder in 350ml milk – after training

Leave a Reply

