Skin and Nutts

It seems like forever since I last posted/trained, the reason being that I was out of town on business. That’s right, eating not many veggies and fried stuff. I did try my best to keep up with training, asking the local box if they had a spot for me. Unfortunately, my free time was during their busiest periods. And when you have the choice between paying customers and some visiting guy… In any case I did some bodyweight exercise and prisonner squats to keep improving my shoulder flexibility. I’m getting better, my head does not tilt forward much while squatting with my hands behind my head. Try it, you’ll see it’s not that simple.

Today’s another pick your poison day. I had posted on my Facebook last Monday that I’d do the Canadian Hero WOD posted that day – school and all that. So tonight, I kept my word and did Nutts.

Nutts: 10 HSPU, 15 deadlift 250lbs, 25 boxjumps 30in, 50 pulllups, 100 wallball shots 20lbs, 200 double unders and 400m run with a 45lbs plate. And yes, it’s nuts. Took me 34:29, and I did not Rx. I did 225lbs with good form (the min weight expected for the WOD 4 Toys, too), my HSPU are not deep enough yet, but I can string 10 in a row, no sweat! Because of the sheer number of DU, and me not wanting to stay there for hours and be very very angry at the universe, I did 600 singles instead. It’s brutal and the rope skip takes a lot on the cardio. Then the running… Oh man, the running with a plate is so demanding. There’s simply no good way to hold the plate and run decently. And people give you very funny looks, as if they’d never seen a guy in shorts and t-shirt, dripping with sweat, huffing and puffing running outside mid-November while carrying a 45lbs plate around. Go figure.

I also received my Skin compression shirt today, short sleeved. The theory behind it is that compression helps sending back the blood towards the heart, so it gets oxygenated faster, and your muscles don’t tire as quickly – or hurt as much afterwards. Well, I don’t know about the last part, but it seems to be doing something. The compression keeps the shoulders and back from hunching, and I didn’t feel as tired as I thought I would be by the end of the 100 wall ball shots. I guess that’s something. 🙂

I should be training tomorrow, but instead I’ll go see friends who are testing for their black belt. It will be fun to see old friends,but also painful to watch as I can’t for the moment. I really miss jiu jitsu… 😦

1 scoop (9g) Aminocore (BCAA) with 600ml water – right before and during training, 1 scoop (28g) Dymatize ISO100 whey powder in 350ml milk – after training

Leave a Reply

