Split Jerks

Last Saturday, I went to see an old friend and students from my dojo do their black belt exam. Four hours of being pushed to their limits. They all did quite well. They can be proud of what they’ve done – they left it all on the mats. As I had assumed, I miss doing martial arts. 😦

I got to have a chat with my sensei there, too. I should go back in January if all goes well. I did like knowing that they haven’t blackmarked me, and are pushing for me to go back and train, as I’m close to the shodan. I’ll see how the new schedule will fit my reality. Not being able to commit 2 nights a week makes it hard to progress. In any case, I got to see what’s in store for me at some point. If I can survive/perform in crossfit competitions, I’ll know my body and mind can handle the strain. Techniques and performing under pressure will come in due time.

Today was another nice day for me. The skill was split and jerk, where you “split” your legs front and back as you jerk up, I find it less draining and more powerful than the simple jerk, where you’d squat. Funny thing, I’m actually not to bad at it! About time I find something that I’m decent at! Adding weight gradually, I finished at 135lbs. I could’ve gone heavier, I think. Granted, we did start with the bar on the rack, so no clean involved… that helped, too.

Today’s WOD was 15-12-9 for time: Thrusters 135lbs, L-shaped pullups. L-shaped pullups are, you guessed it, pullups with your legs up, making an L shape. Easier said than done. I tried, and I can barely manage 3. I went for scale, which was leg raises followed by pullups. Basically a 2 step version. Thrusters I went with 95lbs, as I struggle with that weight. I can do them, but barely, and some I don’t squat as low as I should. Fran seems so far away… In any case, I finished in 10:56. In my last set of pullups, I decided I wouldn’t go passed 11min. I was a struggle, with 10:30 on the clock and 6 pullups left with my core burning. Glad I managed to do it.

Supplements

1 scoop (9g) Aminocore (BCAA) with 600ml water – right before and during training, 2 fish oil caps, 1 scoop (28g) Dymatize ISO100 whey powder in 350ml milk – after training

Leave a Reply

