Breaking Sweat

“Boy oh boy does the hurting feel good!” is what I thought halfway through the WOD. School’s over, and today’s WOD was not shoulder oriented – always a plus. It felt good to go back and train. I mean just train, not hone my skills (not that it’s a bad thing, mind you).

The beauty of crossfit resides in the possibility of adapting everything to anybody. I may not be back to Rx in a lot of things, or for a while, but the fact that I can complete a WOD scaled, with bearable discomfort, is awesome. Nothing worst than sitting on the sideline and watching your friends play and have fun.

We started with a small warmup. No running or rowing, but rather 4 rounds of 5 pullups, 10 back extensions and 1min plank. That gets you blood going a little. Many found the plank hard, as they were watching the clock. Nothing slows time more than looking at the clock! We then moved on to the skill – Turkish Get ups (5-5). I scaled it back from the pood I’d done previously to a simple 15lbs. I wasn’t sure how the shoulder would react with too much weight at arm’s length. It wasn’t too back, but resting on the arm while getting up/down caused mild pain. Still, nothing too bad (“you can push through that, said the physio, it won’t worsen things”).

Then came the WOD: 5 rounds for time, 20 min cap – 7 deadlift (275lbs), 30 squats, 7 HSPU. Since I hadn’t trained in a while, and not thinking I could manage the weight involved (both DL and HSPU) at the moment, I scaled: 205lbs and HSPU with knees on 30in box (less weight on my shoulder). I got a good sweat, a good burn in my quads and mild disconfort in my shoulder, but nothing I couldn’t push through. I also wore my compression shirt, but I don’t think it changed anything. Did the WOD in 11:06, tired, sweaty and feeling my back and leg muscles, but f&%$ing happy to be back!

I was also shown a new website called Bodeefit, from the folks who brought us paleOMG. You basically get a daily workout delivered into your inbox. It’s all bodyweight, and somewhat short so far. I’ll probably try to do them every day, or at least on every training day. Today, for example, is a dynamic push-up/bicycle sit-up in a ladder 10 to 1, then 9 to 2, etc. Don’t know the exercice? That’s ok, every workout comes with videos of the movements. It’s a nice complement to what I do, and also something I can easily do on the road. šŸ™‚

Supplements

1 scoop (9g) Aminocore (BCAA) with 600ml water ā€“ right before and during training,Ā 1 fish oil caps, 1 scoop (28g) Dymatize ISO100 whey powder in 350ml milk ā€“ after training.

I’ve decided to give the Beyond Yourself products a try… They had a nice deal for pre-training, BCAA and whey isolate powders. I’ll switch once my current BCAA and whey are used up.

Leave a Reply

