Handstands

I’m improving and healing. But I’m at the point right now where you don’t feel much pain, so the mind easily forget recovery’s still not over with. It’s that instance where you feel like you can go full on again but then f*** everything up because you went too hard too fast. Those that have been injured while training, then gone back to it with baby steps, know what it is. Actually, it’s the same when you get surgery then do rehab. It’s hard not go harder because there’s not sign of injuries.

I went to today’s skillz class partly because I wanted to learn, and partly to test my shoulder. Today was all about handstands! No HSPU, just building strength and stability while standing on your hands, arms extended, back to the wall. We started easy, with a tripod hands/head on the floor and gradually moved up to a full handstand without wall support. Sort of in my case. You basically do the handstand, tighten your abs, tilt the hips forward and push a little bit off your feet. Tadam! Free handstand, for 2-3 seconds so far. But hey, its a start! Next stop would be walking on your hands, but I’m not stable enough yet. More importantly, my shoulder did not hurt – at all. Woot!

I thought about doing the WOD afterwards, but it involved 5 rounds that included 30 reps of kettlebell swings with 1.5 pood. Like I jut said, it’s tempting to go and try it, but that many reps will simply destroy it right now and set my back further. No bloody way. Instead, I went with my (now) back-up/add-on option, bodeefit. Today’s bodee WOD was 12/9/6/3reps of jumping lunges, mountain climbers, dips and V-crunches. It’s quick – 4minutes even – but it get the cardio going! Didn’t break much of a sweat, but the heart was pounding and the breathing was faster. Bodee just got it’s own page in my log book.

Supplements

1 scoop (9g) Aminocore (BCAA) with 600ml water – right before and during training, 1 scoop (28g) Dymatize ISO100 whey powder in 350ml milk – after training.

Leave a Reply

