Quads

Two nights training in a row! I’m on fire! 🙂

Tonight was a great night – I got a good burn and pushed my cardio some more. The skill tonight was yet another nemesis of mine, the double unders. I really, truly, honestly loathe DUs. I just can’t seem to string more than 1 in a row.. I don’t get it. I tried varying speed, rope length and getting a single in between. It simply ain’t working. But at least I didn’t get angry at them today.

Tonight’s WOD was a good quick one: 12min AMRAP – 5 snatches (95lbs), 10 pike sit-ups and 15 box jumps. Due to my (improving) mobility and little experience with the full snatch (it includes a squat), I tried it first with 55lbs. No use going Rx, I know I’m not there.. yet. I can do it at 55, but my form becomes really crappy. I could’ve muscled it throughout the WOD, but I’d be cheating myself. I settled on 35lbs. I kept a great form the entire WOD and still worked the muscles. Pike sit-ups are the same as yesterday’s V-crunches. For the box jumps, I tried to put into practice what we had learned in the efficiency class: when you jump off the box, immediately jump  back up. It take a few jumps to get used to it, but it works pretty well to save energy. And you rest on top of the box – less walking space available, so you don’t waste time walking around and going back to your station. I did mine in sets of 5, it worked well. The WOD is murder on the quads, don’t be fooled… Squats, pikes and jumps – all legs and cardio. Felt good! Oh, I did 5 rounds and 1 snatch.

Christmas is also right around the corner, so I don’t know how training will go. I’ll try and work out as much as I can, either at the box or with bodeefit. I promise to do at least 3 WODs between Dec 25 and Jan 1. Got to burn some of the calories I’ll be having. 🙂  Come the New Year, I’m thinking about doing the 30 days paleo challenge, either by myself or through the box, as our coach is thinking about challenging us.

Supplements

1 scoop (20g) Beyond yourself Pre-WOD with 12oz water 45 min before training, 1 scoop (9g) Aminocore (BCAA) with 600ml water – right before and during training, 1 scoop (28g) Dymatize ISO100 whey powder in 350ml milk – after training.

*The pre-WOD tastes ok – it’s “blue” flavored. I may have taken it too early, so I couldn’t benefit from it enough, but it seems to give me a little boost.

Leave a Reply

