Facing Demons

soreToday’s Christmas’ Eve. As the Mrs is working, and I’m not, I figured I’d squeeze in one more training session before the many rounds of family holiday meals. My entire upper body is sore from Tabata, but I figured I could push it. Turns out I was in for more than I thought.

The skill was a good one, one that I hadn’t done in a while (July, accroding to my log book): Front Squats (6-4-2-1-1-1). It’s just like a back squat, except the bar’s in front of you, in the clean position. Last time we tried this, I was at 65lbs. This time, I PR’d at 165lbs. On my last attempt I tried to go for 175lbs, but my wrists wouldn’t take the strain and I had to bail. Still happy. 🙂

The WOD was a quick and not so nasty one. 21-15-9 reps of Power cleans (135lbs) and GHD sit-ups, for time. To be honest, it scared me a lot. Last time I did power cleans, I busted my shoulder, had to bail out of a competition and went back to before square one on some exercices.

I knew I’d have to face my demons at some point and do the power cleans. I was hoping a little later than that. Oh well, no turning back – time to see how I’ll do. Since I’m not an idiot (well, not entirely), I scaled to a weight I knew I could handle but that I’d still get a workout out of. I went with 75lbs. Tried it a few times, and it didn’t seem that bad. I did the WOD in 6:09, and there wasn’t weight. Some of the reps I didn’t power through, and I could easily muscle my way up. Guess I’ll have to add some weight next time. I very pleased to say that the shoulders and feeling sore, but not hurting. I’m happy I faced my fears and I think I came ouot of this a little bit stronger, if not more confident. I guess it’s my Christmas gift from Crossfit.

I’m off to see family and friends for a few days. I wish you all a Merry Christmas. Train hard, train safe.

Supplements

1 scoop (9g) Aminocore (BCAA) with 600ml water – right before and during training, 1 scoop (28g) Dymatize ISO100 whey powder in 350ml milk – after training

 

Leave a Reply

