Home

My hands and fingers hurt for having locks applied to them (some with a yawara stick, too), and the throat feels the same after having chokes (both vascular and respiratory) applied . I am happy, I am home.

After long months away from the dojo, I am finally back on the mats now that my schedule permits it. Feels good. Friday night classes are different, too, as a master club class is also offered at the same time as a reular class. Those classes are usually only open to brown and black belts, but every now and then, purple belts like me are allowed to join them. Though I did not join it tonight, our Shihan (and dojo owner) was teaching and doing the warmup.

Shihan’s warmups are very cardio-intensive and tax your endurance. All but the fittest man finish her warmup without panting. I am so glad to be doing crossfit! I’m not saying that I am such a man, mind you. I was panting like the rest of the class by the end, too, but after 30-60 seconds of rest, I was ready for some more. During the warmup, I also felt faster and more explosive than before. The training is paying off – I’ve got to keep at it!

We spent the class doing hand/fingers lock and chokes. It was very much detail-oriented, and both my training partner and I got to see small details that make a world of difference (and cause more pain, too!). My partner, a blue belt, also made a difference. I like training with him; he pushes hard and he’s focused. Those are things that make me want to push myself more, too. He’s also heavier than me, so the technique makes a difference when properly applied. All this bodes well for the future, especially since I aim at having a brown belt around my waist by the end of 2013. 🙂

Supplements

1 scoop (10g) Beyond Yourself AMRAP (BCAA) with 12oz water – during training, 1 scoop (28g) Dymatize ISO100 whey powder in 350ml milk – after training.

Leave a Reply

