Combo

I’ve discovered that trying to combine both crossfit and jiu will be a little bit more complicated than I thought. The schedule don’t quite align and what happens in one class can impact the other, like today.

Jiu was first – more yawara, wrist locks and submission work with the stick. My shoulders are still stiff form yesterday, so that doesn’t help. I’ll get looser as time goes by – relearning flexibility the hard way. Fortunately, the skillz class was all about ankle, calf, wrist and lat mobility. So I’m now bruised, sore but loose. I had thouht about doing the class following the skillz but decided against for 2 reasons. First, it’s shoulder intensive and I felt I might get injured doing it (OH walking lunges, burpees and KB swings). Second, I’m still slowly getting in more training and I felt that 3 in one day was pushing it.

Still happy, though. I’ll be singing a different tune tomorrow, probably, but it’s all good.

Ah, little side note: As I usually come soem time before classes start for some extra warmup, I also take the opportunity to improve techniques, test out movements, etc. without the pressure of a WOD/class. I can take my time and try figuring things out. For the next little while, I think I’ll be working on ring muscle-ups (I can hoist myself halfway already), double unders (sigh) and butterfly pullup-ups.

Supplements

1 scoop (10g) Beyond Yourself AMRAP (BCAA) with 12oz water – during training, 1 scoop (28g) Dymatize ISO100 whey powder in 350ml milk – after training.

Leave a Reply

