Challenge Benchmark 1

In my previous post, I mentionned I was to do 2 Benchmark WODs this week for the paleo challenge. I plan on doing jiu on Mondays (with crossfit before when feasible), but today, I only did crossfit in order to do my first challenge benchmark, a Hero WOD.

We started with body measurements – weight and body fat percentage. I’ve gained weight since I started this blog – I like to think it’s mostly muscle mass – and I usually weight myself at empty, in the morning. On average, I walk at 192lbs with 19% body fat. My official weigh-in, around 5pm, was 199lbs and 20% body fat. I suddenly feel heavy, but not that fat. 🙂 I assume I’ll get measurements at the end, too. Loosing 8-10% and some 10 lbs would be really awesome; going back to my pre-wedding weight (168) would be nothing short of a miracle.

Our warmup was quick and simple. Two rounds of 7 burpees, 8 pushups, 9 sit-ups and 10 jumping lunges (each leg). We then moved on to the skill – hang power cleans 6-6-6-6. I finished my last set at 105lbs. I’m pretty happy with the progress, even though I probably could’ve added 10, maybe 20, more pounds. Then came the WOD.

Hero WOD – “Jack”: 20 AMRAP – 10 push-press (115lbs), 10 KB swings (1.5 pood), 10 box jumps (24in). I scaled the push-press to 75lbs and did 7 rounds + 2 push-press. My heart was racing by the time I was done. I didn’t expect it to be cardio-heavy! In addition to writing my results on the board with the others, my stats were entered in the challenge file, with an indication of what was scaled. Our coach refuses to tell us by which standards he’ll decide who won the challenge. I guess we’ll know in April.

I also tried to do a ring muscle-up again. Being an idiot, I did it at the end of my WOD; there wasn’t room around the rings before, as others were doing the WOD. I’m getting there, though. I looked at a tutorial to see what I was doing wrong… and I’m getting a better grasp of the body mecanics involved. If I keep this up, I might be able to do one by the end of the challenge… or even February!

Supplements

2 scoops (40g) Beyond Yourself Pre-WOD with 10oz water 20 min before training, 1 scoop (10g) Beyond Yourself AMRAP (BCAA) with 12oz water – during training, 1 scoop (28g) Dymatize ISO100 whey powder in 350ml milk – after training.

**So the pre-WOD is not working at all for me. Even with two scoops, I don’t feel a rush of energy or anything. Too bad. **

 

Leave a Reply

