Fran

Part of me had been dreading this day… the other part was eager for it. Today, I did Fran.

Fran is THE benchmark WOD. You can go to any box and ask “How’s your Fran?”, and 99% of the people will give your their time. It’s an easy sounding WOD: 21-15-9 of thrusters at 95lbs then pull-ups. It’s fast, brutal and it will take your arms and cardio to hell and back.. three times.

But before actually doing it, we had a shoulder mobility portion to go through. A very good thing, too. Fran is murder on the shoulders. I did mine with 65lbs, so women’s Rx. I can do 95lbs thrusters, but as skills at the moment (so 2-3 max rep). My shoulders have not regained enough strength for Men’s Rx.

On top of being intense, it’s also quick – one of our top athlete did his Rx in less than 3 minutes; I did mine in 6:33. I’m still happy witht the result, as it was my first time with Fran. It’s one of those WOD that I wanted to do to see how I’d fare, but at the same time, I dread it because I don’t want to do too badly either. Today’s WOD was also the second one needed to enter the paleo challenge; that means I’ll redo it in April to compare. I’d consider it a major success to have a similar time, but Rx.

I also want to note a new PR with my pullups. I’ve got this little contest going with my physio about who can do the most in a row – always have a rabbit to chase, or always be chased, I guess. When she did 10 in a row, I did 11. She told me last Tuesday that she did 12, with a smug smile, too! So today, I did 15, and told her in a smug fashion, too. 🙂  Pretty sure next week, I’ll have to hit the 20 mark.

Supplements

1 scoop (10g) Beyond Yourself AMRAP (BCAA) with 12oz water – during training, 1 scoop (28g) Dymatize ISO100 whey powder in 350ml milk – after training.

Leave a Reply

