Jackie

It’s Friday – pick your poison day – again. Tonight, I felt like doing a dirty girl, so I settled on one that would challenge my shoulders: Jackie.

It’s a fairly straightforward WOD: For time – 1000m row, 50 thrusters (45lbs) and 30 pull-ups. I admit I took a leisurely pace with the rowing, averaging 2:17 per 500m. I’m trying to focus on my technique more than brute pulling. The thrusters went pretty well; I did them in sets of about 10, with a dip in energy at the 20rep mark. I regrouped and plowed on. The pull-ups I’m really proud of. I did 10/8/6/6, keeping a good rhythm throughout. No aching of the shoulders, hands didn’t crack open or hurt much. Finished in 10:45 Rx. Something seems to have clicked inside me about the pull-ups. I seem to be able to crank them at will… well, maybe not at will but in decent amounts at a time. 🙂

Paleo day 5 and still holding strong; just more sluggish. Point of pride, though: I had a retirement dinner last night, at an Italian restaurant of all place. First hurdle of the challenge; pasta and cheese aplenty with a side of deli meats and sugar. I still pulled it off with the only item available to me on the menu: steak with mushrooms, and the waiter was friendly enough to switch the roasted potatoes with carrots. I didn’t feel pushed aside or feel weird ordering with my colleagues. Ok, it did suck a little not to order wine to drink with them. Now that I’ve conquered this challenge, the next big one will be in 2 weeks, when I hit the road for work.

I think what helped me yesterday was the mindset I took. First of all, I’m a former smoker, so I know about the frustration of not having something you crave. Second, instead of going to a place thinking “well, that’s it, I’m gonna cheat, I know it – no choice”, I’m thinking ” I’m not going to cheat unless I’m really backed in a corner, and even then”. I find it a more positive approach, don’t you?

Supplements

1 scoop (10g) Beyond Yourself AMRAP (BCAA) with 12oz water – during training, 1 scoop (28g) Dymatize ISO100 whey powder in 400ml water – after training.

Leave a Reply

