Honour and Hate

It’s been a few days since I wrote, but that doesn’t mean I’ve done nothing. I’ve kept true to the challenge and trained during the weekend with bodeefit. They were demanding WODs that included burpees. I really, really hate burpees, lateral ones included. Because it’s not enough to have regular burpees, someone came up with the idea of doing the burpee, jumping sideways – possibly obviously over an obstacle – and doing another burpee then repeat. In Sunday’s case, it was 5 long jumps and 5 lateral burpees every minute, on the minute, for 15 minutes.

Yesterday was a jiu night; but not a usual one. My sensei’s sensei (his title is Hanshi) came from France and gave a special seminar. From what I gathered, it was aimed at Master Club folks, usually brown/black belts and up. Some schools, like mine, accept purple belts into their ranks, too. So, to be invited to this seminar was quite an honour. Granted, lower belt practitionners were also present from the host dojo. Personally, I don’t mind, as long as they train hard – and they did. It was 2 hours of learning variations of throws and takedowns… and you know it’s a good class when even your teachers are learning, too. I still have burn marks on my neck and shoulders/armpits due to gi friction. It was worth braving the craptacular weather and road condition we had last night.

On to today’s dose of hate. The workout started pretty well with shoulder presses (8-8-8) and push presses (6-6-6). I PR’d on both, at 105lbs and 125lbs respectively. Pretty happy with myself, pushing my limits by more than 10lbs. After some mobility exercises to help with cleans, we moved on to the WOD.

The WOD is pretty simple: 13min AMRAP – 20 lateral burpees and 10 hang power clean 135lbs. Yes, that’s right, the damn lateral burpees again… but with tired shoulders from presses this time. Hurray. It was not fun, but I managed to do 3 rounds and 6 hang power cleans at 95lbs.

One thing I’ve been trying to do for a while is keep my back to the clock. That way, I don’t think about the time that’s left, or for how long I’ve bben in pain… another way of helping to focus on the WOD itself.

Supplements

1 scoop (10g) Beyond Yourself AMRAP (BCAA) with 12oz water – during training, 1 scoop (30g) Beyond Yourself Whey ISO in 400ml water – after training.

Leave a Reply

