Crossfit Open

Well, I’ve made another decision that’s either going to prove to be an awesome experience, or rank somewhere in the top 20 stupidest things – just like entering the Spartan Race. I’ve decided to register for the Crossfit Open. Each year, Crossfit Games are held for athletes worldwide – the best crossfitters; kind of like the crossfit olympics. To get there, though, you have to qualify through the Opens. Five WODs in five weeks that are judged by qualified personel or recorded and sent to the Xfit Games officials. All results and ranking are posted online. If you’re good enough, after the 5 weeks, you get to move on to the Regionals for more testing. Then, if you’re good enough, as far as I know, you get a spot in the Games. Honestly, I most likely won’t qualify to go past the Opens – not even sure I’ll Rx all the Open WODs – but it will be interesting to see how I stack against athletes from around the world. WOD 13.1 will be revealed March 6.

Because of work, I couldn’t quite go to the gym as planned, so I did the bodeefit WOD. I’ve discovered yet another way of punishing my legs. The WOD is 5 rounds for time: 20 lunges, 1 min handstand and 1 min forearm plank. It took me 15:15 to complete. I never thought handstands and planks would be so demanding on the legs! Holy gravity, that hurt… As the Mrs eloquently said: [censored!].

In about a week, my box will hold a special seminar on mental toughness; how to plough on regardless. Sadly, work is taking me to Fredericton and I will be missing it. Silver lining: there’s a crossfit gym right across the street from my hotel… small world. But the workshop made me think about motivation. What motivates me? I mean, I have goals I want to achieve and all, but what drives me to push more, to plough on during training when the weights get heavier, the body slows down and both the muscles and the mind cry in pain? I don’t know.

Whenever I’m done before others, I will go and encourage them – sadly the only way I know is from the book of military motivation: tell them to go on; rest will come later. Or some variation of this. Some need to be yelled at, others gently proded, and others ordered about. Everybody’s got a button that can be pressed, to tap into that reserve of energy and willpower and finish strong; to switch to a beast mode. I’ve never found something that works for me. Getting yelled at, ordered, cajoled; I hear it all, but the mind shields me (like in the Army, you let the words roll over you and do not get to you). Honestly, it sucks, simply because I can’t tap into that beast mode others do. Then again, that’s what I think, maybe others see me react differently. Until I find the way, I’ll keep searching.

Supplements

1 scoop (10g) Beyond Yourself AMRAP (BCAA) with 12oz water – during training, 1 scoop (30g) Beyond Yourself Whey ISO in 400ml water – after training.

Leave a Reply

