Superbowl

As if the Filthy Fifty was not enough, it seems, the coach assumed that many binged on bad food yesterday – Superbowl day. So, he got us a demanding WOD to make sure the culprits would burn the calories. Either that or he felt nasty – the jury’s still out of this.

We started with a nice warmup – 3 rounds of 5 pullups, 5 dips, 10 HRPU and 10 situps. Nothing fancy, but it gets the blood going. We then moved on to the skill: Front squat 8-6-4-2-2-2. 8 reps with bar and we go progressively heavy. I finished at 155lbs. I tried 165, but I had to bail – I pulled a few ligaments in my right hand going into the squat. Nothing bad, just… painful.

On to the WOD: For time, 20min cap: 25 HSPU, 2 deadlift 315lbs, 50 toes to bar, 2 deadlift 315lbs, 75 wall ball shot 20lbs, 2 deadlift 315lbs, 150 double unders. As my previous 1 rep max deadlift was 305lbs, odds were slim I’d do 315lbs. Still, I did it at 255lbs – good weight; you have to work for it. And I did all frigging double unders! ALL OF THEM! Even managed to string 3! At the 20min cap, I had 23 left, so the coach let the clock run for me to finish. Took me 22:01. Not Rx because of weight and the HSPU which are not complete, but it was good.

Now, I’m off to ice my hand.

Supplements

1 scoop (10g) Beyond Yourself AMRAP (BCAA) with 12oz water – during training, 1 scoop (30g) Beyond Yourself Whey ISO in 400ml water – after training.

Leave a Reply

