Snatch PR

Of all the lifts, I consider the snatch to be my bane. It’s sheer dynamism when you’re lifting the bar off the floor, combined with the OH Squat, makes it a hard movement to master, heck to simply do! I know I’ve come to terms with the OH Squat, I’m improving, but the whole combination… yeah.

Guess what we did today is skillz class? That’s right, snatches. After our warmup, we did the Burgener warm up, going through the different part of the movements with a plastic dowel. My squats are still deep, so there’s always that. We then went through different types of snatches, gradually moving towards the full snatch: Hang power snatch 5-5-5, Hi-hang squat snatch 4-4-4-4, Power Snatch 6-6-6 and Snatch 4-3-2-1-1-1-1.

I pretty much started with the 45lbs bar and added 10, then 20lbs to the bar to gradually get used to the weights and movement. I still feel uneasy with the movement, as I always feel like I’ll fall in a craptacular fashion, hurting my knee or shoulder. It’s an irrational fear, and I try to push it aside – focusing on imagining the complete successful movement in my head.

For the last set of snatches, we could go for a 1 rep PR, as we were warm enough and the body was used to the movement. My last PR dates back to December 22, at 65lbs. This time around, my set of 2 was at 65… so I went into unchartered territory, gradually lifting heavier. Well, wouldn’t you know it, I ended up doing 85lbs! I feel like I could’ve gone heavier, but I’ll take what I have and call it a victory. Hurray! 🙂

The mini lift drills I do at home, both for squats and shoulder mobility, are starting to pay off. Thanks coach!

Supplements

1 scoop (10g) Beyond Yourself AMRAP (BCAA) with 12oz water – during training, 1 scoop (30g) Beyond Yourself Whey ISO in 400ml water – after training.

Leave a Reply

