Disapointed

Coming back from a not so fun funeral weekend, I still have to keep on training. I gave myself a break Saturday; it was pretty hard to get into a training mood after the service. I picked it up again yesterday and today.

Today, I was disapointed by my performance. It usually doesn’t happen – I do my best – but I felt like I let myself down. Every thing started well with the warmup: 40 mountain climbers, 2 strict pullups, 10 situps, 2 strict pullups, 10 pushups, 2 strict pullups, 10 squats, 2 strict pullups. It was good – all major muscle groups got engaged. I was warm and ready to kick ass.

The skill part today was Back Squat (6-6-6-4-4-2). I went in confident. Last time I did the exercice in skill class was in September, and I lifted 205lbs on a 1 rep max. I figured I’d have inproved in the last 4 months… I barely managed to finish my set of 2 at 195lbs. Maybe I started to heavy from the get go, I don’t know. But I was hoping for something better.

The came the WOD. Five rounds for time: 20 OH lunges with a 45lbs late above your head, at arms’ length and 20 burpees. After the back squats, this was murder! Nonetheless I felt confident going in. We had done the WOD in June and I did it in 13:59Rx. I was hoping to shave at least a minute off my time. Well, things didn’t quite go this way. Nothing well went: lunges felt heavier and burpees seem to suck all the energy out of me (I mean more than the usual with a burpee). I finished in 14:49Rx, gasping and disapointed. Looking back in June, the skill we had done before was double unders -which might explain why it felt so damn hard.

Those are not excuses, I gave my all training today. These are just possible explanations on why I came short on my goals. It happens,you get bad days. I am disapointed, granted, but it’s not going to stop me from pushing further. It just sucks… 😉

Incidently, 16 days left until the Crossfit Open, and I still can’t do a muscle up. Not good.

Supplements

1 scoop (10g) Beyond Yourself AMRAP (BCAA) with 12oz water – during training, 1 scoop (30g) Beyond Yourself Whey ISO in 400ml water – after training.

Leave a Reply

