12.2

Continuing on the 2012 Open WODs, I decided to do 12.2 today – it’s pick your poison Friday.

12.2 is a snatch ladder. with a 10min cap. You start with 30 reps at 75lbs, then move on to 30 reps at 135lbs, to 30 reps at 165lbs, and then to 30 reps at 210lbs. You can do a full snatch, a power snatch, etc., as long as it’s a snatch – the bar goes from the ground straight to overhead, without stopping at shoulder level (i.e. clean).

I started out like a beast. By minute 3, I was done with the first set and had switched weights to tackle the 135lbs snatches… and that did not happen. I honestly spent the next 7 minutes trying to get the bar above my head. I wasn’t expecting miracles either, mind you. I’ve never managed lifting 135lbs above my head before, een with shoulder or push press. I had hoped to at least do one! No dice. The best I did was get the bar to the transition point where I’d have to push upwards, around shoulder level. There’s probably some fear in there as well, never having done this heavy, coupled with this very dynamic movement and thinking I might injure my shoulder again. Curse the demons that whisper such poison in my ear!

I figured after the WOD, as it only took 10 minutes, that I’d work on my bar muscle up. My goal is to do at least one before the Open. No such luck today. I’ve checked the videos, listened to my coach. But between what they show, what I do and what I see in my mind, there’s a missing link. I still can’t put my finger on it. It’s like the kipping pullups. It took me time to wrap my head around those same elements.

*Follow up on 12.1: I told a few people at the box about willingly doing the 7 minute burpee challenge yesterday, and I got a stare usually reserved for those heading to the loony bin. 🙂

Supplements

1 scoop (10g) Beyond Yourself AMRAP (BCAA) with 12oz water – during training, 1 scoop (30g) Beyond Yourself Whey ISO in 500ml water – after training.

Leave a Reply

