Reality Check

Every now and then, you get a reality check. It’s not always a bad thing; I get some that tell me that I’m at a certain point in my journey – possibly ahead or behind where I thought I was. Today was more of the latter than the former.

Fairly straightforward WOD today consisting mostly of my weaknesses: 10min AMRAP – 3 Thrusters, 5 Cleans, 7 OH Squats, all at 115lbs. I struggle with the thrusters and, as some of you know, the OH Squats (no hate, now, though!). My approach to deciding how much weight to put on is logical. I check my log book, see where I stood last time, the date, whether or not it was a skill/1 max rep/WOD. From there, I usually add weight if under the WOD Rx. So, enough to struggle/work for it without it being impossible or getting injured. I also want it to be heavy enough that I don’t breeze through it all, which would defeat the purpose.

So with this in mind, I knew 115lbs would be out of the question. I figured 95lbs would be a decent weight. It’s the Rx for Fran, too. My shoulder/push press is somewhat above that weight, and I know I can clean it. OH Squat at 95lbs… I wasn’t so sure. I know I’ve done 75lbs for a few reps, and I feel like my shoulders have regained a lot of strength. I tried doing 80lbs to gauge… no use – it was simply too much. Fortunately, there were few of us, and I was allowed to use two bars for the WOD. For cleans and thrusters, 95lbs, for OH Squat, 65lbs.

This is where I got a reality check. I did 4 rounds and 5 cleans in 10 minutes. Thrusters in rounds 3 and 4, I couldn’t string all 3 in a row.. it was that hard to squat then push upwards. Not so sure about doing Fran Rx at the end of the paleo challenge, now. OH Squats, I was expecting to struggle, but not that much. Man, it was hard! I thought I was stronger, but I was shown otherwise.

You know what, though? I’m okay with that. I got to spend a WOD not having fun, but working on my worst weaknesses. I also know now where I stand WRT my shoulder strength. So, still a good training session. 🙂

Muscle up(date): Still can’t do one, but small pieces are falling into place in my head, and I’m working on my kipping chest to bar pullups, which will help me do them muscle-ups.

Supplements

1 scoop (10g) Beyond Yourself AMRAP (BCAA) with 12oz water – during training, 1 scoop (30g) Beyond Yourself Whey ISO in 500ml water – after training.

Leave a Reply

