Weakness week

Man tonight’s WOD was draining! It caught me by surprise; I thought it would be more of a muscular demand than a cardio one.

Simple warmup consisting of mountain climbers, pullups, pushups, situps and double unders. The skill part was a hip and leg mobility set. It did help.

Today’s WOD: For time – 10 Squat Cleans 135lbs, 20 Toes To Bar, 20 Box Jumps 24in, 10 Muscle Ups, 20 Push Press 135lbs, 20 Double Unders, 10 Thrusters 135lbs, 20 Pull Ups, 20 Burpees, 200 feet OH Walking Lunges 45lbs.

Did you notice in the middle of this the muscle ups? That’s right, no kids glove tonight; Rx will have to be earned the hard way.  And it’s RING muscle ups, too. Obviously, this was outside my skill and strength levels – I scaled. I had an 85lbs bar for all the lifts. I worked hard for the reps, too. The muscle ups could be scaled: you could do 10 bar muscle ups, or 10 ring muscles ups from the ground on the knees (which I did), or 20 chest to bar PLUS 20 ring dips. I can do the rings from floor pretty ok. I’m missing explosive movement for the real deal. It took me 17:37 to finish this nightmarish WOD. The 200 feet OH lunges were simply murder at every step. Finished gasping and soaked. A good workout. 🙂

I also noticed that this week’s WODs all happened to take aim at what I’m weak at: OH squats, thrusters, double unders, muscle ups. So, it’s been a crap week, but a good one, too. Slowly chipping away at the weak spots, all the while trying to get a positive(r) training mindset. I’m slowly pushing the negative voice out, one mental decibel at a time.

Supplements

1 scoop (10g) Beyond Yourself AMRAP (BCAA) with 12oz water – during training, 1 scoop (30g) Beyond Yourself Whey ISO in 500ml water – after training.

Leave a Reply

