Fitting End

My shoulders hurt, my hands are blistered, and yet I’m smiling. Some might think I have push pressed my last remaining marbles. It’s quite possible.

Tonight was pick your poison Friday, but with limited choices. I came in thinking about doing WOD 12.3 (18min AMRAP – 12 box jumps 24in, 12 pushpress 115lbs and 9 toes to bar). I wasn’t the case. My choices were one of this week’s previous WOD, WOD 12.1 (ah HELL no, not again) or the coach WOD. I went with the later.

The WOD is 2 rounds for time – 100 double unders, 50 shoulders to OH 95lbs and 25 toes to bar. The shoulders to OH are simple: get the bar from shoulders to overhead, however you want/can get it up there. It took me 21:33 to do it, but I did it all Rx. The lifts were quite the ordeal after yesterday’s WOD.

It was a fitting end to my weakness week. I spent my time tonight working on my weak points, too. My technique is not pretty, but I like to think it’s gradually improving. Furthermore, after the 100 push presses (I did them all in push press, which is one half of the thrusters I have issues with), my shoulder wasn’t hurting, aching or otherwise making my life miserable. It took 4 months, but I think I can safely say it’s healed.

Supplements

1 scoop (10g) Beyond Yourself AMRAP (BCAA) with 12oz water – during training, 1 scoop (30g) Beyond Yourself Whey ISO in 500ml water – after training

Leave a Reply

