Calgary

I’m flying home tomorrow after a quick business trip to Calgary, and I think I might hate my time in the air.

So, I went to one of Calragy’s crossfit boxes, to see how they do things out West and to train, too. You see, this is why I love crossfit – the community’s so friendly. I walked in today in Reebok Crossfit Ramsay (after asking, if I could drop in, of course), ready for whatever they’d throw at me. The athletes and the coach took me in as if I was a regular member.

After a good leg warmup, we got on the lifting part of the WOD – 1 1/4 front squats 5-5-5-5-5. This front squat is like a regular one, but instead of getting directly up, you stop when your thighs are parallel to the ground, then drop back into the squat and up. My wrist is not fully healed and it was an unfamiliar move, so I stayed at a decent weight 95lbs – not as heavy as I would’ve liked, but I’m not running the risk of getting hurt 2 days before the Open.

After that, our legs were pretty warmed up, so we moved on to the second part. Simple and easy enough on paper, like my training partner said tonight. Three rounds – 2 min max air squats, 1 min rest, 2 min max situps, 1 min rest. Add the reps. I tried to keep a steady pace throughout, but round 3, with lactid acid, was rough. I finished with a respectable 343 reps total.

Tomorrow, in a plane, sore quads… yeah. 🙂

Leave a Reply

