13.1

As I had assumed, 13.1 was a horrible cardio WOD where you wish you’d evolve a third lung to help out the two others.

As I mentionned yesterday, 13.1 is 17min AMRAP – 40 Burpees, 30 Snatch 75lbs, 30 Burpees, 30 Snatch 135lbs, 20 Burpees, 30 Snatch 165lbs, 10 burpees, max rep Snatch 210lbs. After each set of snatches, time is recorded for tie breaking purpose.

I planned to pace myself for the burpees, doing sets of 10. It didn’t quite happen that way – I couldn’t get a rhythm going and I missed the target a few times when not looking, so I had to jump again to tap it. Just like last year, the standard was to hit with both hand a target 6 inches above my hands, arms fully extended. The first set of snatches were ok, even though the burpees were taxing. I finished the snatch set at 7:35. I then moved on to the set of 30 burpees. It took me the better part of 5 minutes to do them. My lungs were on fire, I couldn’t catch my breath – it wasn’t pleasant. I did plow on, in sets of 3.

I then came face to face with my nemesis, the 135lbs snatch I couldn’t lift when I tried 12.2. Sadly, I still can’t lift it. There is a slight glimmer of hope, though. I tried a variation for the snatch called the split snatch. Instead of squatting under the bar, you “split” underneath, one left forward, one leg back, like a clean and (split) jerk. I managed to lift it passed my head/shoulders at least once, but couldn’t raise it more to lock my arms. I’ll check my video and see what happened. I did tape my WOD, even though I’m judged in person. I figured I can use this aftrwards and a training tool and see what didn’t work, what I could work on, etc.

Here’s a funny thing, too. Today’s the first real day of people trying the WOD, so the scoreborad is relatively empty. Because of that, after entering my score, I saw I was ranked 33rd in my region (Canada East) and 934th worldwide. I can say I wasn’t too bad at least ONCE in the Open. 😀

Big thanks to my coaches and judges, pushing and encouraging ’till the very end.

Supplements

1 scoop (10g) Beyond Yourself AMRAP (BCAA) with 12oz water – during training, 1 scoop (30g) Beyond Yourself Whey ISO in 500ml water – after training

Leave a Reply

