Forcing Yourself

I usually post the same day I do a WOD, but this time, I simply couldn’t. On pick your poison day, some athletes decided to do 13.1, if only to try and go through what those registered for the Open are feeling. Looking at the people present on Friday night, I was wondering who was braver/stupider. Those doing the WOD for the Open, those doing 13.1 AGAIN to try and improve their score, or those, like the Mrs, who willingly decided to try 13.1 even after hearing how bad it can go and seeing what people looked/felt like afterwards. For the Mrs, I think it’s a litlle bit of both – but she does push herself.

Which is what I did, too. Now, I’m not doing 13.1 again, unless I have to. Nonetheless, I had to pick a WOD. I went with the one folks did on Thursday while I was doing my Open WOD.

Five rounds for time: 21 thrusters 75lbs, 21 double unders. I did it in 19:19 Rx, and I was not a happy camper. I chose this WOD because it forced me to work on two exercises I don’t like and am weak at, thrusters and DU. I still don’t like ’em, but I’m improving – I think. But after the burpees and snatches from the previous day, I can tell you my shoulders didn’t like it one bit. Still, I finished it and I managed to string 3 DU in a row. πŸ™‚

Supplements

1 scoop (10g) Beyond Yourself AMRAP (BCAA) with 12oz water – during training, 1 scoop (30g) Beyond Yourself Whey ISO in 500ml water – after training

3 comments

Leave a Reply

