Cardio

Can your cardio actually get worse? I mean while training, not after a long break from exercise. More on this further down.

Back to the box today after winning my annual fight with the taxman over the weekend (I owe him nothing!), and training from my parents’ place, with bodeefit. After the stupidity of 13.1, we started with strength training. On the menu for the skill part today: a trio of squats. First course was back squats 8-8-8. I ended up lifting 195lbs for 2 reps at the end, then went back to 165, as it was simply to hard to complete the set safely – I could feel pain in a quad at that point – NOT going to pull a muscle or blow my good knee on a squat, or at all for that matter. Considering my max 1 rep is around 255, I’m happy.

Next came front squats 6-6-6. My wrist is still not fully healed from my last experience with the front squat, so I took it easier at 85lbs. Enough to get a workout and a stretch in the arms/wrists, while keeping the tendons safe. With finished our trio with a favorite of mine, the OH Squat 4-4-4. I kept a decent weight, 65lbs. My shoulders are slooowly getting the needed flexibility and strength. 🙂

Now on to the main course, WOD 11.2, to keep with the Open spirit. WOD 11.2 is 15min AMRAP: 9 deadlift 155lbs, 12 hand release pushups and 15 boxjumps. I did 5 rounds and 8 HRPU Rx. Honestly, it’s not a WOD I’m proud of; it didn’t go bad, but didn’t go well either – I was expecting more out of me for this, to be honest – at least 6 or 7 rounds. After the second round, my cardio simply gave out. Just like that, box jumps became twice as hard and deadlifts seemed much heavier than they usually are at that weight. Hence my question at the beginning: Can your cardio get worse? I see no cause for it to suck that much today. Ah well, it is what it is, and I’ll get over this, too.

Supplements

1 scoop (10g) Beyond Yourself AMRAP (BCAA) with 12oz water – during training, 1 scoop (30g) Beyond Yourself Whey ISO in 500ml water – after training

Leave a Reply

