Karen

Another Pick your Poison Friday is upon us, and I was feeling uninspired. It happens. None of this week’s WOD peaked my interest, and I sure wasn’t going to do 13.2 two days in a row. Fortunately, I could do a benchmark (girl) WOD. I’ve done a few recently, over the last 3 months, and a lot of them are still out of my Rx range… and I felt like having an Rx! 😉

So after searching, pondering and thinking, I ended up doing Karen. This benchmark is hated my all, yet everybody’s got to do it at least once in their lifetime to experience first hand the sheer suckiness of it. The WOD’s very simple and straightforward: 150 wall ball shots, for time. That it. Men’s Rx is the 20lbs medecine ball, which must be thrown at a target 10 feet high after a full squat – every time.

I started pretty well with 22 consecutive shots. Then I tried to do them in sets of 10, then 5, then however many I could. It took me 10:42 to finish it. And yes, it sucked. Now it’s done, and hopefully I won’thave to do it again for a long time.

Kudos also to the Mrs, who did 13.2 tonight with 168 reps! Her shoulder strength is increasing by leaps and bounds, and it’s shows/pays off.

Supplements

1 scoop (10g) Beyond Yourself AMRAP (BCAA) with 12oz water – during training, 1 scoop (30g) Beyond Yourself Whey ISO in 500ml water – after training

Leave a Reply

