Regroup

Ok, it’s been almost 24h since my meltdown. I’ve had time to rest, talk it out with the Mrs to see what the hell happened and assess the situation. Time to regroup and go forward again.

I though a lot about the issues that are hindering my performance, the sources and the consequences. I have talked to smart people, and I’m better now. I forgive you, WOD, for dragging me to hell and back, then rubbing salt in the wounds and setting me on fire. Seems I’ve taken a side street on my road to the Race, and I have to follow it to the end, until I get back on track. It’s probably not going to me pretty: I have to work on my mental game… more than I thought.

That being said, I’m not happy with my 13.3 results – I did get to learn what it was. I’m not going to publish it yet. I’ve decided to face this demon, and do it again. Next Sunday, I’ve scheduled a spot to try 13.3 again. I don’t want to, but it’s only way I’ll be able to look myself in the eye again when thinking about that WOD. Of note, it’ll be the THIRD time in two weeks that I’ll have done Karen. Sigh…

I also trained today. People seem not too have minded that I blew a gasket yesterday; happens to all of us at some point, it seems.

So today is pick you poison Friday, and I chose yesterday’s workout. Not 13.3, but the box’s WOD. 15 min AMRAP: 15 back extensions, 15 knees to elbows and 15 OH Squats 95lbs. I went with 65lbs: Still enough to constitute a good challenge. I’ve noticed I’ve gained shoulder mobility, too. I need to get some more strength to stabilize while squatting, but I’m not struggling as much to keep the bar over my head. 🙂

I ended up doing 4 rounds and 14 knees to elbows. Not too bad.

Supplements

1 scoop (10g) Beyond Yourself AMRAP (BCAA) with 12oz water – during training, 1 scoop (30g) Beyond Yourself Whey ISO in 500ml water – after training

Leave a Reply

