13.4

New Open WOD, new mindset.

I took a more zen approach to 13.4. As I mentionned yesterday, I’d never lifted 135lbs, ever. If I could do 1 rep in the WOD, I’d be happy. Completing the round of 3 would be a personal achievement. Getting in the round of 6, it’d simply be awesome. Like I said, every lift done in this WOD is a PR for me.

Btw, 13.4 is the following: 7 minute AMRAP: 3 Clean and jerk (135lbs), 3 Toes-to-bar, 6 Clean and jerk, 6 Toes-to-bar, 9 Clean and jerk, 9 Toes-to-bar, etc.

I also took a smarter approach to the lift, and my expectations. I got at the box about an hour before the WOD, warmed up and started lifting, getting gradually heavier. Plastic to 45 to 95 to 115 to 135lbs, taking rests in between so not to smoke my shoulders and legs. A split-jerked all of them to make sure I was comfortable with the movement. At the end, I was happy. I lifted 135lbs TWICE! That meant I could at least do 1 clean and jerk at 135lbs during 13.4 – my honor was safe. πŸ˜‰

The toes to bar were never an issue for me – I like knees to elbows, and all I have to do is extend the legs more. πŸ™‚

In 7 minutes, I ended up doing 41 reps – 41 PRs! That’s getting in the round of 12, wouldn’t you know. It was surprisingly demanding on the cardio, too.

Supplements

1 scoop (10g) Beyond Yourself AMRAP (BCAA) with 12oz water – during training, 1 scoop (30g) Beyond Yourself Whey ISO in 500ml water – after training

Leave a Reply

