Paleopdate

It’s Easter morning, and everybody’s asleep here. Since I can’t sleep anymore, I figured I’d take a few minutes to do a small update on the Paleo Challenge.

There are 15 days left in the challenge, and I’m still going strong. I had great results at the beginning, but I seem to have plateau’d for the last month and a half or so. I’ve lost 20lb and about 2% body fat. I’ve grown stronger, too, adding muscle mass. I’ve gained mostly in the back and shoulders – to the point that someof my shirts cannot be closed at the collar anymore! The same goes with my bespoke clothes… They were snug when I got them, now they’re… tight. The Mrs is not complaining. 🙂

To be honest, it’s been suprisingly easy to keep it up and not cheat. The food we’re cooking is great, tasty and filling. There are sweet deserts and snacks that can be made to satisfy my sweet tooth, too. I have had a few cravings, but they were for the most part short-lived. They were more along the line of “Man I wish I had some” when walking in front of a bakery and smelling freshly baked goods. Small upside about quitting smoking: you learn how to deal with cravings.

Going in the challenge, I thought the hardest part would be eating at restaurants or at my parents/in-laws. Well you know what? It’snot that bad. Restaurant staff were very comprehensive about the restrictions. We’re already used to it because of the Mrs and coeliac’s disease. Adding it was due to a training regimen actually got them curious about crossfit and the results – they fussed even less when I asked what was in the food, sauce and when asked to replace potatoes by veggies. At my parents, it took a little more effort and advanced notice, like this weekend: Easter and celebrating 4 birthdays at once. Still managed it, even if a glass of wine would’ve been nice. Point of pride, my parents are impressed by my willpower, and they’re not teasing me or nagging.

Two weeks are left – until April 14, and those will most likely be the hardest. You know the end is near and the willpower might flag a little. It’s when you mind starts whispering that it’s almost done, so cheatig a little won’t do harm, right? I have to be careful, it’s easy to slip.

Happy cocholate day!

 

 

Leave a Reply

