Reality Check

Easter’s come and gone, like chocolate for many, and now we get back to reality.

In my case, it means continuing with the training. Haven’t stopped, gotta keep going.

Today is a cold and windy day here… and I mean windy! Since it’s Spring and the roads are decently dry, running is slowly coming back as our main warm up exercise. I seem to have kept my rhythm, so there is that. The skill of the day was L-Sit, 4 times max hold. L-Sits are simple: you sit on the floor, legs straight in front of you. You put your hands next to your hips, push up and lift both butt and legs off the floor. Simple, yes? Try it. Go on, try, the rest of the post can wait. Only butt or legs lift, right? Exactly my problem. So I scale, I do the same, but hanging from rings instead. My Ls are not pretty, they almost look like l instead, but I’m working on them.

And now, the WOD. 3 rounds for time: Hang Power Clean 135lbs, 15 burpees. After doing 13.4, I thought to myself “Hey, this is not going to be so bad”. WRONG! The reality is that my shoulders are still smoked and starting from the hang power clean doesn’t give me as much power and leverage as a full clean. Took me 12:15Rx, but I hurt all the friggin’ way. I was actually looking forward to burpees. Yeah, that much.

Supplements

1 scoop (10g) Beyond Yourself AMRAP (BCAA) with 12oz water – during training, 1 scoop (30g) Beyond Yourself Whey ISO in 500ml water – after training

Leave a Reply

