Burpee Pullups

That’s right, because burpees are no longer fun enough.

Last week of the paleo challenge, and I’m feeling pretty good. We started out with shoulder mobility exercises, to loosen everything up after the 5 weeks of Open. There was a lot of groaning and pain as we rolled and stretched the knots out of there – even us folks who roll (almost) every night.

Once that was done, we setup for the WOD. 5 rounds for time, 20min cap: 3 thrusters 165lbs and 10 burpee pullups. Yes, you read correctly, 165lbs… which is waaaaay above what I dream of lifting. During the Open, I cleaned and I overhead pressed 135lbs, and I know I can also front squat that weight, so I figured that would be a good yet challenging weight. And it was. Most reps weren’t pretty and I was not a happy camper lifting, but they got done. Now, the burpee pullups. It’s exactly what you think they are. You do your burpee, and with the jump at the end you grab the bar overhead and do a pullup. Most people have to jump 3-4 inches, maybe. But because of my height, my arm length and the bar height, I’m stuck at the highest bar, and have to jump close to a foot.  Fun.

Nonetheless, I finished in 14:56. It ain’t Rx, but it’s another PR in lifts.

Supplements

1 scoop (10g) Beyond Yourself AMRAP (BCAA) with 12oz water – during training, 1 scoop (30g) Beyond Yourself Whey ISO in 500ml water – after training

Leave a Reply

