Snatch PR

Tonight was Skillz night. It’s been a while since I went to one… On the menu, snatches.

 

We had 3 types of snatches: balance snatch (5-5-5), hang power snatch (4-4-4) and full snatch (4-2-1-1-1-1). After warm up and prep, we got to our first movement, the balance snatch. You basically start on the tip of your toes, with the bar resting on your shoulders, and you drop into a squat position for the squat/lift part of the full snatch. This was with lighter loads, and I went up to 55lbs.

For the hang power snatch, the bar is an mid-thighs (power position). You bring it up over the head and squat. Going heavier I finished at 85lbs, my max 1 rep from a previous workout.

Last came the full snatch: bar on the floor, straight to overhead and squat. We were supposed to start at about 85% of our max, and go up to get our max 1 rep. In my case, that meant a PR at every lift, as I was starting form my max. Now, I know from WOD 13.1 that I can power snatch 95lbs, though without the squat part, and that I can’t power/split snatch 135lbs. So I knew my range, more or less. The only variable being my shoulder strength, as my issues with the OH Squat have underlined. I did my first 4 at 85lbs, no problem, it went up “smoothly”. My set of 2, I did at 95lbs. Not as smooth, but went up pretty well. I was pushing it, as I wanted to break the 100lbs mark tonight. It took my 6-7 tries, and almost that many bails, but on my last one, I managed to do a 105lbs snatch. It was horrible, almost uncontrolled at the top, but it was good! I am happy about breaking that mark, but my shoulders aren’t. 🙂

Supplements

1 scoop (10g) Beyond Yourself AMRAP (BCAA) with 12oz water – during training, 1 scoop (30g) Beyond Yourself Whey ISO in 500ml water – after training

 

Leave a Reply

