Tabata That

Friday is upon us, and again I get to actually chose my hurt. I went with yesterday’s WOD: A tabata. I wanted to do the Murph, but it’s really crappy outside, and I’d rather not run in snow/freezing rain/hail.

Tabata is many  rounds of various exercises for short periods of time, and with even shorter periods of rest. After a while, though, the rest seems even shorter and rounds longer.

So tonight, eight 20s rounds of each of the following, with 10s in-between: pull ups, push ups, sit ups, squats. I started pretty strong, but as rounds went on, it got harder. Most of my reps I actually made in squats. I finished with 65, 70, 66 and 133 reps for each respectively, for a total of 334Rx. I’m pretty happy with the results, though I think I could do better. Got to learn the butterfly pull ups!

Also, tomorrow is my last day of the paleo challenge! 90 days without even cheating once! The only points “lost” were bonus for training or sleeping. And I’m still neck to neck with a fellow athlete at the gym. We both know we’re not going to give up at this point. 🙂

It also means I can have 2 coffees Sunday, and waffles! I still have the benchmarks to go through, though. Jack and Fran next week, taken at the same weight/settings as when we first did them in January. Because of that, I’m hesitant about cheating, or cheating a lot at the very least. I want to perform for the benchmarks, get a real reading of my progression. Guess I’ll stick to almost strict for that week.

Overall, it’s been a great experience. I was amazed at how easy it was to “quit” the bad stuff. Having a meal plan, planing ahead and a very comprehensive Mrs (also 5 years with her today) helped a lot. At time, it was a pain to stay strict… birthdays and special events made things complicated. I got funny stares, but generally, people around me were very understanding. Some told me they admired my willpower. The funniest comment remains my mothers: “You managed to do this with easy, yet you struggled so much to quit smoking”. I plan on keeping the paleo diet lifestyle; it’s given me great results and a nice body, I guess. It won’t be this strict – I’ll cheat every now and then… 😉

Thanks to all who supported and encouraged me. Tanks to my box, coach and fellow athlete for pushing me.

Supplements

1 scoop (10g) Beyond Yourself AMRAP (BCAA) with 12oz water – during training, 1 scoop (30g) Beyond Yourself Whey ISO in 500ml water – after training

Leave a Reply

